Bookmark Mail this page Print this page

Division is serving six major district of state, (West Bengal ), this covers the geographical landmarks between river Hooghly on the west, Bangladesh on the north and eastern sides and the sunderbans on the southern flanks. Division is divided into three geographical zones i.e. north and main, central and south. It extends in boundary in north upto Lalgola having wings from intermediate junction stations upto Santipur, Gede, Kalyani Simanta and in the east Bangoan and Hansnabad. In the south zones extends upto Canning, Namkhana, Diamondharbour and Budge Budge. In west zone upto Bally Halt. Circular rly. Starts from Dum Dum Jn. To Ballygunge via Princep Ghat and Majerhat. One elivitated new connectivity has been made from Cantonment Stn. To N.S.C.Bose Airport which is an unique feature in Indian Railway. Division deals with international traffic of Bangla Desh through Gede and Petrapole. Division achieved new mega coaching terminal at Chitpur named as Kolkata Terminal. Total route Kilometre of division is 722 Kilometre with 104 Block stations, 48 Flag stations, 51 Passengers Halt and 5 Block cabins.

Source : Eastern Railway CMS Team Last Reviewed on: 13-09-2011